>Matchbox cars and Hammers

>Apparently I’m doing this parenting thing all wrong. Oh well.

About a month ago Annie and I were at Walgreen’s waiting for her Rx to be filled. We walked up and down the aisles looking at nothing in particular. Annie spotted a hammer. She held on to it as we walked up and down each row banging on the front of the shopping cart. As we rounded the corner a little old lady noticed us and informed me that I was letting my baby play with a BOYS TOY!! Gasp and Horror! I smiled and nodded-probably mumbled something about her liking it. Then I went to the checkout and bought the hammer. Boys toy…whatever.

Photobucket

One day last week Joe and I were out and about doing some shopping. I was secretly hoping that we would run in to that same little old lady as I handed Annie her first Matchbox car.

Photobucket

This morning I laughed as I looked over to see my little girl sitting in her dress playing with her hammer and her Matchbox car. Together. Like a GIRL.

Photobucket

Oh yeah, and while I’m thinking about this whole boy/girl silliness. Annie has a pair of boy jammies too. Why? Because Meagan liked them, and thought they were cool and wanted her sister to have them. So I bought them. I guess I’m screwing up both my kids.

Photobucket

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tasha
    Jun 11, 2008 @ 09:48:00

    >Jonathan has the same hammer.Oh well, I was a tomboy growing up, and I turned out just fine!She is adorable!!

    Reply

  2. Anonymous
    Jun 12, 2008 @ 01:46:00

    >The abuse you put that poor girl through! Shame on you! LOL.Betsy

    Reply

  3. Kari
    Jun 12, 2008 @ 02:37:00

    >My Niece also loves those cars…she will play with them forever rolling them up and down walls and tables!Annie is so cute!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

wordpress stats
