>03.22.10

>Last week Annie and I packed up and jumped on a plane heading south. We hit Austin TX, San Marcos TX, New Orleans LA, and Dallas TX before heading back north. There was plenty of snow on the ground when we left, but we were glad to see that it was gone upon our return.

This was Annie’s first flight. She is a very busy little girl and I was worried that she was going to be a nightmare to fly with, but she did really well. I brought lots of things to keep her occupied and before we knew it we were touching down in Austin, TX for a week with Grandma!

We spent the first couple of days at my Moms house. We spent some time with Lauren and did some shopping of course.

Next stop-New Orleans, LA

Welcome to New Orleans! City of music, Mardi Gras beads, and naked ladies in the hotel room across the street. 🙂

Someone should have told her to close her blinds.

We walked the River Walk, ate beignets at Cafe du Monde, rode the horse drawn carriages, shopped the French Market and took in all the sights.

Annie is in a stage where she refuses to look at the camera. No matter what we try, she wants nothing to do with the camera.


But apparently making faces out the Ferry window is loads of fun.


I am not a fan of spicy food. Ketchup is about as spicy as I’ll venture food wise, but we did try a lot of the local stuff. Alligator, oyster Po Boy sandwiches, jambalaya-we tried it all. Our favorite though? Haydel’s bakery. Mmm Mmm Mmm.

The swamp tour was fun. I was hoping to see some alligator, but it was still too cold. Maybe next time.


Can you see the snake in that tree?

Soon it was time to pack up and head north to Dallas. My mom was meeting her brother and his wife, so Annie and I were flying out from there.

For a long time, I’ve had a fascination with the grocery store Piggly Wiggly. For no other reason other than it’s a funny name, and I love saying it. I know, I’m a dork. Imagine my delight when my mom mapped it out for us, and made sure that we stopped to look around. Anything to make me happy, right? My mom is awesome like that. 🙂

The store was just as I imagined. A dump. BUT they did have a Razorback Hog for Annie to ride. We had to let her ride just for my friend Suzie. (Suzie, imagine us standing around calling the hogs in your honor. We did. I swear. Woooooo, Pig! Sooiee! Wooooooo, Pig! (Is that how it goes?) Ok, maybe we didn’t but just pretend we did, ok?


This thing is kind of scary looking for a kiddie ride, don’t you think?
And then it was time to head home. Annie did just as well on the flight home. It was a great week.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan
    Apr 03, 2010 @ 16:01:38

    >I am so proud!!!! I need one of those HAWG rides. LOL

    Reply

  2. Tanya
    Apr 05, 2010 @ 16:47:31

    >Well, now I don't feel so bad for leaving my Christmas lights up for so long……at least I wasn't walking around naked with my windows wide open!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

wordpress stats
