He fought the law and the law won

Photobucket

Almost 6 years ago Charlie came to live with us. He was the small ball of fur that quickly found his spot in our family.

Last night as I was getting ready to leave the house, I let him out like I’ve done thousands of times. He was out of my sight for less than 2 minutes. I let him out the door, turned around to help Annie with something, turned back to let him in and he was gone. I’m not sure if he heard fireworks, if he could feel the vibration of fireworks or if he saw something that he thought was worthy of chasing. In any case, he was nowhere to be found and I was worried. He had never done anything like this.

For 3 1/2 hours Joe, Meagan and I took turns driving around looking for him. During this time our city put on their fireworks show just a couple of blocks from our house. I just knew he was running further and further away. Finally at close to midnight we gave up looking. We had called the police and learned that several dogs had been picked up last night, some matching Charlie’s size description and that we could come to the animal shelter the next afternoon at 1:00.

I was too nervous to go. If I had shown up and Charlie wasn’t there, I would have been a blubbering mess. I sent Joe. Shortly after 1:00 I received this text from Joe and Annie

Photobucket

Joe posted his $11 bail and Charlie got to come home. He’s been sleeping on the couch all day. His night on the town exhausted him.

Leave a Reply

wordpress stats
