Let’s go to the beach!

Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

I’m pretty sure I’m not the only parent that struggles with whether or not they are making the best decisions in regards to raising their children. We wonder if we are feeding them the right foods, if they watch to much TV, if their behavior is what we expect of them and so on.

Working from home affords me many benefits. I don’t have gas costs or commute times, I don’t have a work wardrobe to maintain and I don’t have to put Annie in daycare. However, I still struggle with guilt. I feel bad that I basically need her to hang out in the house and entertain herself for most of the day while I work. I am lucky, that my job is flexible that I can take breaks during the day, or pop outside with her for a half hour or so, but still-it’s not the same as her having my undivided attention. However, I know that this is a temporary thing and she will be going to school 4 days a week in the fall and then off to preschool, so it won’t be as big of an issue any longer. That doesn’t help me this summer though.

Today Annie was itching to go outside. I held her off as long as I could and then I decided to close the computer and we headed to the beach. It was super windy, but the only thing she wanted to do is build a sand castle. We dug for a while, started to work on our castle when she decided that throwing rocks into the lake was a better way to fill what was left of this day.

I love my job and I’m so thankful that I have a boss that is flexible and understands that my family is important. Kids are only little for a little bit and sometimes sitting them in front of the TV for another hour or coloring another page in a coloring book just isn’t an option. Sometimes you’ve just got to go to the beach.

Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

Leave a Reply

wordpress stats
