Just a little bedside reading

photo (2)I can’t remember if I mentioned it here or not, and frankly I’m too lazy to go back and look but in October I suddenly and unexpectedly lost my job. I first began working at FlamingoWorld while living in Las Vegas. Meagan was in elementary school when we lived there, remember? She’s half way through her second year of college now.

It started off as very part time, and there were a couple of short lapses in time where I did other things, but basically, I’d been there in one way or another for almost 10 years. I loved my job. I was one of the few who were lucky enough to count their boss as a friend. I got along with my co-workers (well there was that one that I didn’t like so much – lol). I loved the freedom and flexibility that working from home gave me. Yes, there were some downsides to it too – like the lack of face to face contact with people, but basically, it was the perfect gig for me. I miss it, and the comfortable routine of my day and week, but it is what it is.

When I lost my job I was faced with a decision of what to do next. I contemplated going back to work, but soon found that my job was so specialized that finding new employment wasn’t as easy as I thought it was going to be. It became painfully obvious that I was going to have to go into an entirely new direction if I was going to go back into the workplace.

So, I’ve enrolled back in school. Classes started three weeks ago. This is a new kind of busy for me. It’s taking a little getting used to, but it’s going well so far. I’m trying to embrace change. This isn’t the plan that I had in store for myself but  in the end everything will work out as it’s supposed to. It always does.

 

Leave a Reply

wordpress stats
